BASICS Honours and Awards

The Executive Council institutes prizes, honours and awards in the field of immediate care, its organisation, operation, research or other activity in connection with immediate care where it deems such prize, honour or award will further the object of the Association or foster greater understanding or learning in connection with immediate care.

Honorary Life Members

Awarded by the Executive Council to mark an individuals exceptional service to the Association.

Rt Hon The Earl of Elgin & Kincardine KT
Mr Ron Bailey
Mrs Joan Clarke
Dr Judith Fisher
Mr Tore Laerdal
Dr Iain McNeil
Dr Brian Robertson
Dr David Zideman LVO
Mrs Ruth Lloyd
Professor Sir Keith Porter
Mrs Rosemary Adams
Dr Chris Brittain
 Dr Richard Fairhurst
Dr Ken Hines
Dr Hamish MacLeod
Mr Ken Morrallee
Dr Neville Silverston MBE
Mr Richard Steyn
Dr James Hickman MBE
Mrs Beryl Smith

The Asmund S Laerdal Award

It all began with the near-drowning of his son, Tore, and Asmund Laerdal’s desire to promulgate mechanisms of resuscitation. This event occurred almost simultaneously with the landmark work of Peter Safar in the utility of mouth-to-mouth ventilation. These factors stimulated this wood and plastic toy-maker into the development of a mannequin to teach airway manoeuvres and mouth-to-mouth ventilation.  But the contributions from the Laerdal family did not stop with Annie. She was followed by the development of an improved version that made CPR training into an educational experience reinforced by feedback. Then came the resuscitation baby, the self-inflating bag-valve-mask, the intubation training mannequin, a monitor-defibrillator, and more and more. Laerdal pioneered an industry dedicated to the preservation of life and wellbeing.

Much of the profit from the sale of these innovations has been invested in the support of conferences, in the development and distribution of educational programs, stimulation of journals, and the provision of awards to stimulate quality research in prehospital and disaster medicine.

BASICS is honoured to have the privilege of choosing a nominee for one such Asmund S Laerdal award each year. Awarded at the discretion of the Chairman in consultation with the Senior Officers of the Association the Laerdal Award is given to recognise an individual who has provided enduring service to prehospital care. A member of BASICS the recipient is recognised as having contributed to the development of prehospital care either through practice or education. Exceptionally the Laerdal Award is awarded to non members whose activities within prehopital care meet the above criteria and who undertake this actiity on behalf of BASICS.

1984 Professor Frank Pantridge CBE
1986 Dr E Gardner
1988 Mr Ron Bailey
1990 No Award
1992 No Award
1994 No Award
1996 No Award
1998 Dr Hamish MacLeod
2000 Dr Christopher Carney
2002 Dr Brian Robertson
2004 Professor Sir Keith Porter
2006 Dr D Baker
2008 No Award
2010 No Award
2012 Dr A Mason
2014 Dr A Smith
2016 Dr Rod McKenzie
2018 Dr Gavin Perkins
1985 Dr Ken Easton OBE
1987 Dr D Chamberlain
1989 Mr W Rutherford OBE
1991 Dr P J F Baskett
1993 Brigadier I R Haywood
1995 Mr Myles Gibson OBE TD
1997 No Award
1999 Dr John Eaton
2001 Dr Ken Hines
2003 No Award
2005 No Award
2007 Mr Howard Sherriff
2009 Dr John Scott
2011 Dr John Stevenson
2013 Dr David Zideman LVO
2015 Dr Jonathan Joslin
2017 Mr Richard Steyn
2019 Dr James Hickman MBE

BASICS Lifetime Achievement Award

Inaugerated in 2013 to honour individual members of the Association who have provided long and faithful service through to pre-hospital care, normally awarded at or near the individuals retirement from pre-hospital care.

2013 Dr Richard Herbert
2015 Mr Martin Fuller
2017 Dr John Eaton, Dr David McManus
2019 Dr Mike Bailey, Mr Barry Hart
2014 Mrs Maggie Horner
2016 Dr Ian Gibson
2018 Dr F MacSorley MBE, Dr T Gray MBE


Awarded by the Executive Council annually to members and others who have provided valuable service to the Association/local Scheme worthy of formal recognition. 

In the case of members awards may be considered for long service, reward for service above and beyond the normal call of membership, to mark exceptional work etc. 

For non-members the BASICS Award marks the Associations gratitude for ongoing commitment or exceptional one off acts.

1986 Mrs D Marshall, Sgt J Howitt
1988 No Award
1990 Mrs R Adams
1992 No Award
1994 No Award
1996 Mr K Smith
1998 Dr M Cottier, Dr R Herbert, Dr R MacGregor
2000 Dr S Brown, Dr J Coward, Mrs J Clarke, Dr P Holden, Dr I D McNeil, Mr T Nuttall, Mr D Parkins, Miss R O’Shea, Mrs D Sherriff
2002 Mr A Parker, Mr N Spike, Mr M Willis
2004 Dr I Davies, Dr N Foster, Dr T Gray MBE, Dr A Mason, Mr T Rowe, Dr P Noble-Matthews
2006 Professor Sir K Porter, Mr D Whitmore
2008 Dr J Hall, Dr P Hardy, Ms T Hobster, Mr A Lee
2010 Mrs E Bateman, Mrs S Smith, Ms H Vantours
2012 Dr A Brownhill, Mr T Nuttall, Mrs T Parkinson, Dr D Rawlins, Dr G Spencer
2014 Dr S Scott-Hayward
2016 Dr R Gratton, Mr C Marsh, Mr R Horton, Dr C Press
2018 Dr G Spencer, Dr S Stockley, Dr P Brown and Dr A Pountney
1987 Dr R Winch MBE
1989 No Award
1991 Mrs R Adams
1993 No Award
1995 No Award
1997 No Award
1999 Mrs D Sherriff, Mr V Smith
2001 No Award
2003 Ms A Colledge, Mrs B Smith
2005 Mrs C Clenshaw, Dr A Jones, Dr A Mowat, Dr P Patel, Dr T Simock,  Mr A Thurgood
2007 Mrs C Brooks, Mrs M Horner, Dr D Koufoudakis
2009 Dr P Hyde, Mrs R Lloyd, Dr C Deakin, Mr O’Donnell, Mr L Watson
2011 Mr B Hart, Mr M Turner, Dr P Noble-Matthews
2013 Dr A Butler, Dr S Brown, Mr H Frydenson MBE, Mr C French, Dr D Hickson, Mrs C Williams
2015 Dr  J Mauger, Mr A Carson, Dr E Valentine, Dr S Smallwood
2017 Dr S Topham, Dr R Davies
2019 Dr P Chrispin, Mr J Horton, Dr L Hussain,Dr C Leech


2005 Dr J Joslin on behalf of colleagues in Malta.
2009 College of Emergency Medicine. Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh.
2013 Medical Department, Carnival UK.
2006 National Association of EMS Physicians. Royal National Lifeboat Institute.
2008 JRCALC. Prepardeness Division, Dept. of Health.
2010 BASICS Allerdale. The BEEP Fund.

Haywood Memorial Lecturer and Medal Recipient


Brigadier Ian Haywood died in September 1994. He was a Professor of Military Surgery and was due to be Chairman of BASICS later that year. He was a keen supporter of both BASICS and St John Ambulance, and was a formative force in the development of the British Army Trauma Life Support course (BATLS).

After his death BASICS Executive was empowered to initiate an annual memorial lecture, the first of which occurred in 1996.

1996 Dr J Scott
1998 Dr Ken Hines
2000 Dr Colville Laird
2002 Professor J Ryan
2004 Col T J Hodgetts
2006 Professor D Chamberlain CBE
2008 Dr T Clarke
2010 Dr Richard Fairhurst
1997 Dr Brian Robertson
1999 Mr Howard Sherriff
2001 Dr J Rawles
2003 Dr Judith Fisher
2005 Dr G Davies
2007 Mr Tore Laerdal
2009 Dr F Moore
2011  Suspended *

*   In 2011 BASICS held its first joint conference with the Faculty of Pre-Hospital Care which had its own Miles Gibson lecture, The Haywood Memorial Lecture was suspended.