An important part of the Annual Conference and BASICS dinner is the presentation of the annual BASICS Awards in order to recognise our members role and involvement in the science, practice and organisation of immediate care.  The awards fall into two categories:

The BASICS Award: This is awarded annually to members and others who have provided valuable service to the association or a local scheme worthy of formal recognition. Members awards may be considered for long service, reward for service above and beyond the normal call of membership and to mark exceptional work etc. For non-members The BASICS Award marks the Association’s gratitude for ongoing commitment or exceptional one-off acts.

Lifetime Achievement Award: This award honours members of the Association who have provided long and faithful service to pre-hospital care, normally awarded at or near the individual’s retirement from pre-hospital care activity.

If you wish to nominate an individual for either award, please send a 400-word (maximum) summary in support of the application, making it clear which award you are nominating for, to the BASICS office at: 

The closing date for all applications is midday on Monday 12 August 2019, after which the nominations will be reviewed and recommendations made.

2018 Winners

Laerdal Award:

Dr Gavin Perkins



Dr Graeme Spencer,  Dr Simon Stockley, Dr Philip Brown and Dr Andy Pountney


BASICS Lifetime Achievement Award:

Dr Fred MacSorley MBE and Dr Tim Gray MBE

A list of all our winners can be found here